About Department of Hydrology

The Department of Hydrology is one among the 19 academic departments of the Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee, located 180 km away in the North of Indian Capital New Delhi. The Department came into existence with the inception of the International Post Graduate Course in Hydrology in 1972. The Department is presently a unique Department in India and second hydrology degree awarding in the world. The Department has been recognized as one of the WMO-Regional Training Centre (RTC) in 2015. The Department conducts short-term and long-term training Programmes. The short term Programmes are need-based and tailor-made whereas long-term Programme are regular academic PG and PhD Programmes. The academic Programmes, offered by the Department are presently sponsored by the Government of India, World Meteorological Organization (WMO) and the UNESCO.

The Department has seven dedicated full time faculty members specialized in surface water hydrology, groundwater hydrology and watershed management. So far, a total of 888 participants including 322 foreign trainee officers from 39 countries have attended its PG Programmes. More than 70 PhDs has been awarded till date.

Vision : To be the fountainhead of new ideas and innovations in hydrology.

Mission : Capacity building through education and training, and conducting pioneering research to seek scientific and engineering solutions in the field of hydrology.

Ph.D's Awarded
M.Tech's Awarded
International Students

IIT Roorkee at a Glance

Download Admission Brochure

About Department