Since 1972 department of hydrology has trained more than 905 officers across the globe.

  • 578 Indians
  • 327 Foreigners from 40 countries
  • 36 Students are enrolled in M.Tech/PG Diploma
  • 76 Scholars have been awarded Ph.D. degrees
  • 23 Scholars are pursuing Ph.D. at present
  • Published around 150 research papers (last 5 years) in journals and conference proceedings
  • Executed 100+ research and industrial consultancy projects with a total outlay of Rs 100+ million
  • Conducted 8 National and 4 International seminar/ conferences/ workshops
  • Organised 40+ specialized National/international short term courses (last 5 years)



  1. Visiting Professor: Department of Civil Engineering, Universiti Teknologi MARA (UiTM), Malaysia. 2013-2015 (Dr. M. Perumal)
  2. Visiting Scientist: Research Institute for Hydrological Protection, IRPI-National Research Council, Perugia, Italy (Dr. M. Perumal)
  3. Bharat Singh Chair Professor since 2013 (Dr. N. K. Goel)
  4. Adjunct Professor, University of Waterloo, Canada (Dr. N. K. Goel)
  5. Khosla Research Prize I 1999, 2001, 2002 (Dr. N. K. Goel)
  6. Khosla Annual Research Award 1990 (Dr. D. C. Singhal)
  7. IAEA expert to University of Namibia, March 2003 (Dr. D. C. Singhal)
  8. Associate Editor, Hydrogeology Journal (Springer Verlag), 2007 (Dr. D. C. Singhal)
  9. Associate Editor, Journal of Environmental Management, Springer: 2011 – onwards (Dr. M. K. Jain)
  10. Editor, Journal of Hydrology (Indian Association of Hydrologists): 2014-onwards (Dr. M. K. Jain)
  11. Young Academic Award to work as Visiting Faculty at UNESCO-IHE, Delft, The Netherlands. (Dr. D. S. Arya)
  12. North-south Dialogue Scholarship to work on GIS based DSS in Austria. (Dr. D. S. Arya)
  13. 2013 ASABE Superior Paper Award. (Dr. Sumit Sen)
  14. Editor, Journal of Hydrology (Indian Association of Hydrologists): 2008-2013 (Dr. Himanshu Joshi)
  15. Fulbright IAELP Award, USA, 2006 (Dr. Himanshu Joshi)
  16. Endeavour Executive Award, Govt. of Australia, 2008 (Dr. Himanshu Joshi)
  17. British Council Faculty Exchange Award, 2010 & 2013 (Dr. Himanshu Joshi)
  18. Lifetime Achievement Award with Varah Mihir Samman (2010-2011) from South Asian Association of Economic Geologists (SAAEG), Bhopal (Dr. D. C. Singhal)